Peak Seedlings

My garden starts are taking over our tiny house.  A few have gone out, but more are still inside, and have just been potted up.  This is the maximum volume of starts in the house – peak seedlings.   The bulk of them are due now to go out to the greenhouse, and then the starts will steadily be on their way out the door.

This is just the downstairs windowsills

Some of the fastest-growing tomato varieties have grown legs in just a couple days (you know who you are, Ropreco).  It seems I just can´t avoid getting leggy tomatoes, unless I adjust seeding dates by variety – not sure I´m that dedicated.

I can now announce the newspaper pots a success.  They hold up just fine. I´m totally going to do this every year.  However, it´s the slightly stiffer (or more impregnated with coloured printing ink)  advertising paper that comes in the middle of the paper that works best- I made a couple with normal newspaper and they sort of melted.

4 thoughts on “Peak Seedlings”

  1. They all look good. I was wondering about the “normal” newspaper. I figured it would be a lot less sturdy. Glad it worked though. Recycling is the best!

    1. How´d you know? The normal newsprint is soft and falls apart – the advertising paper is a totally different animal, with all that ink and sizing.

      1. I once tried laying down newspapers in the garden to prevent the weeds from growing between the plants. As I recall, that worked pretty well, until they disintegrated.

Share your thoughts...

