Fun task-planting strawberry runners

I love doing something at exactly the right time, since I so often don’t and am surrounded by a trail of mistakes.

I started planting the strawberry runners on time, right at the end of strawberry production.

Many of them I pegged down in the existing patch, for replacement and more density, after separating the mulch cover for them to be able to touch the dirt.

But I hope to be able to cut these off their umbilical cords once they get established, and move them to start another row of strawberries, so I am encouraging them to take root in my pots.

Supplies: dirt, scissors, and a pile of forked twigs
Supplies: dirt, scissors, and a pile of forked twigs
Snipped to make one strawberry "staple"
Snipped to make one strawberry “staple”
2015-07-16 10.22.41
Pegging down a running sprout
2015-07-16 10.21.50
Now it just needs watering

 

One thought on “Fun task-planting strawberry runners”

Share your thoughts...

