Oh yes, we are back from Iceland

IMGP3174

Iceland II, complete.  We left after a full 60 days and the ubiquitous dip in the Blue Lagoon on the way out.

America rudely welcomed us back, into a world bristling with security cameras, roamed by sniffer dogs, and blaring with videos about how great the police are, keeping everyone safe.  It was a real culture shock.

We took the Amtrak (I have nothing good to say about Amtrak) back across the country from the Eastern seaboard to the west, and I went home to Canada.  Back in the PNW!

In a way I think I got Iceland out of my system.  I don’t feel the frantic urgency to return as soon as possible that made me strive to make this trip happen, but if the opportunity arises, I will definitely go again.  Perhaps for another season.  We’ve done fall; winter, check; maybe summer next time.

Complete story of my Iceland adventures

2 thoughts on “Oh yes, we are back from Iceland”

  1. Since you are from our big cold neighbor to the north, it might be easy to forget why we need the sniffing dogs and security cameras.

Share your thoughts...

