Fenced the damn thing

My hands and feet are raw and sore.  I buried a water line across the paddock to the garden- no more bucketing and hand watering for me.  Although I did enjoy that, it doesn’t work when I go away.  It’s nice to do things that are going to stay there now, keep working, and save all kinds of time in the future.

And I fenced the damn thing.  About an hour after I put the tomato plants in two days ago, I busted a deer strolling down in there, and even as I ran at him he stood there looking at me as he chewed, What?  They’re so tame.  I didn’t think deer ate tomato plants because they didn’t taste good or something, but they certainly do.  He topped two of them but I think they will be fine.  Just pruned, rudely after transplanting.

I draped everything green with floating row cover (so glad I had!) for the interim, and pushed hard on getting the fence done to keep the deerpredation down!

Ugh, it's an eyesore. Sigh. Having the posts be able to slide off easily to take the fence down or open up a piece for wheelbarrow access anywhere was an essential part of the design, but the poly pipe isn't strong enough to stand up straight (it's sleeved onto re-bar pounded in the ground). Ideal would be old conduit.

It’s pretty much the ugliest fence ever, and I hate creating unattractive things, but it should do the trick, and it can be improved.  Also, it cost about $30.  We did have an enormous amount of wire fencing leftover around here, so it was just putting some supports in.  Not thrilled with the results, but again, should perform a function for now.  I’ll be happy when it looks neat and cute.  I was also inventing it as I went, so things aren’t usually ideal on first tries.  What I know for sure is how much I hate wrestling with wire fence.  Awful stuff!  My hands ache so bad from battling with it.

As I was fencing around the high edge of the old pond, I was considering all the wasted space and realized I could terrace the edges and fill with dirt, eliminating the need to reclaim the really hard, rocky, dead and un-useful sides of the pond.  There’s also two big flat shelves that I mulched heavily last year because I had extra hay, and now they’re looking like they have potential.  That could be the next expansion- building retaining walls and then building dirt.  Much more efficiency.  Ooh, and I have all the wood I need already- wish I could start immediately!

Share your thoughts...

