Fat cat; raw cat food recipe

The queen in her cozy glory

Kevin is bobbing her head to smell the air as I stir up a batch of bloody meat, liver, and kelp for her.  What is that alluring aroma?

I was concerned about Kevin having enough meat on her bones to stay well as it gets colder.  She had a little sneeze for a week that made me feel terrible.  Seeing as our environment is only partly temperature-controlled, and she’s so skinny, I went on a campaign to  fatten her up, and it’s working!

The chicken hearts were a big hit.  Sometime after those, she noticeably put on some weight, and now she looks more proportional for her petite size.  I’ve also noticed her vomiting has become very rare, and she doesn’t get “sleep” in her eyes anymore.  Her nose and fur look healthier, too.  A whole new cat, with ribs hidden under some muscle and only 5 countable vertebrae (down from all of them), in just one month.

She seems so healthy and happy now; I’m so proud.
It’s been an experimental process, and  I think I’ve settled on a good formula.

Raw cat food:
Regular ground beef (nice and cheap, too)
Some chicken or cow livers, chopped up (the best suggestion I’ve ever been given may be to use scissors, so you can reduce actually touching the stuff to a minimum, because it’s so alarming)
A little bit of rice, lentils, and mixed veggies, (boiled to an inch of their lives so they can be smashed past recognition into the desirable meat)
An egg (raw of course)
A liberal squirt of olive oil
As much powdered kelp and brewer’s yeast as you think will be disguised by the meat
I might throw in the water from a can of tuna, too, or a little cheese because she loves it so much

Obviously this is not a weight-loss recipe.  Cats who need to bulk up or who live outdoors would love this.  For a cat who needs to diet, I would still want to make its food, but would choose less fatty meats or cheap fish cuts.  The grocery store butchers are never surprised when I say I’m feeding my cat, and can usually produce some really cheap “meat parts” for me.

I’ve really got into it, especially when about $5 worth of ingredients lasts a week and a half.  The cost beats out even dry food, which she’s lost interest in now anyways.  DIY kicks butt on canned cat food, plus you get the virtuous satisfaction of knowing that you’re feeding your beloved pet food that even you could eat, not hooves and beaks and filler. Although you wouldn’t eat it like that- raw, and all mashed together.

Cats like 90-95% meat so the proportions I’m using are be about 2lbs of meat to a cup of cooked rice and veggies, and then 3-4 Tblsp of Olive oil and 1-2 Tblsps of the yeast and kelp. I’m making big batches and freezing some, and it’s about as much work as mixing some cookie dough. I’ve also seen “cat supplement” recommended as an ingredient- I’m looking for a good cat multi, and saw banana used in some raw cat food (!).  I haven’t tried the banana yet.

Share your thoughts...

